g.inp

Discussions for BiPAC 8800 series: 8800NL
Post Reply
billion_fan
Posts: 5115
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: g.inp

Post by billion_fan » Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:52 am

swatboy79 wrote:What does this build actually do since G.INP seems to be already implemeted on the latest public build anyway?
From what I have been told from our engineers, this firmware was re-built to support g.inp (that's all the info I have on this release)

mark800
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:34 am

Re: g.inp

Post by mark800 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:11 am

I've now produced a guide on G.INP here:

http://www.increasebroadbandspeed.co.uk/g.inp

Everything is still working well with G.INP with the original firmware. Personally, I would wait trying any new firmware since the old version is reliable.

What is great about G.INP is it seems to counter crosstalk interference and not just sporadic impulse noise.

Mark

swatboy79
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: g.inp

Post by swatboy79 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:18 am

"It also seems to be effective at combatting crosstalk interference – not just sporadic impulse noise."

I think this is the case too as my in-laws also never had interleaving yet he has seen a 10mbit increase.

Just the long wait now to see when they roll it out to more people.
Last edited by swatboy79 on Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:32 am, edited 3 times in total.

prichards
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:07 am

Re: g.inp

Post by prichards » Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:23 am

billion_fan wrote:
prichards wrote:Since updating the firmware the DHCP lease on SKY FTTC stops after 60mins, only way to get connected is to restart the router but as soon as you hit 60mins connected you have to restart.

Downgrading back to current public version.
Is there anyone else with Sky FTTC/VDSL that can confirm if the DHCP lease is renewed after 60 mins?? Or fails to renew the DHCP lease??
Just managed my first 60mims of staying connected since downgrading. Might try the new firmware again later today, do you suggest factory reset or current settings when upgrading?

billion_fan
Posts: 5115
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: g.inp

Post by billion_fan » Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:26 am

prichards wrote:
billion_fan wrote:
prichards wrote:Since updating the firmware the DHCP lease on SKY FTTC stops after 60mins, only way to get connected is to restart the router but as soon as you hit 60mins connected you have to restart.

Downgrading back to current public version.
Is there anyone else with Sky FTTC/VDSL that can confirm if the DHCP lease is renewed after 60 mins?? Or fails to renew the DHCP lease??
Just managed my first 60mims of staying connected since downgrading. Might try the new firmware again later today, do you suggest factory reset or current settings when upgrading?
Yep, I would like some other Sky FTTC users to confirm also

mark800
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:34 am

Re: g.inp

Post by mark800 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 1:42 pm

Just installed the latest firmware on one of my Billion 8800NL routers (with the old firmware on the other). I have two FTTC connections (personal/work).

I can tell absolutely no difference between the two.

The stats are identical; for example, there are no additional stats to indicate the presence of G.INP (which would be useful). I'm still bothered why Billion is suggesting that we should upgrade when the existing version works perfectly. Please could they explain?

Mark

billion_fan
Posts: 5115
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: g.inp

Post by billion_fan » Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:36 pm

mark800 wrote:Just installed the latest firmware on one of my Billion 8800NL routers (with the old firmware on the other). I have two FTTC connections (personal/work).

I can tell absolutely no difference between the two.

The stats are identical; for example, there are no additional stats to indicate the presence of G.INP (which would be useful). I'm still bothered why Billion is suggesting that we should upgrade when the existing version works perfectly. Please could they explain?

Mark
If you don't see any info about g.inp then this means your line is not running g.inp at the moment (adsl info --stats)

As g.inp is already enabled on the 2.32d.dh14 there is no need upgrade

swatboy79
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: g.inp

Post by swatboy79 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:46 pm

mark800 wrote:How strange. I have G.IMP enabled on my line and it works perfectly well with the old firmware!

My downlink connection speed is now 80 Mbps. It was 74 Mbps without G.IMP and the modem is working perfectly.

Mark

Here are the stats:

adsl info --stats
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 27175 Kbps, Downstream rate = 80225 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79635 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.4 10.2
Attn(dB): 9.2 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.8 -7.6

VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: -6 -6
B: 243 97
M: 1 1
T: 0 0
R: 10 8
S: 0.0976 0.1554
L: 20827 5457
D: 8 8
I: 254 106
N: 254 106
Q: 8 8
V: 0 2
RxQueue: 60 39
TxQueue: 20 13
G.INP Framing: 18 18
G.INP lookback: 20 13
RRC bits: 24 24
Bearer 1
MSGc: 186 58
B: 0 0
M: 2 2
T: 2 2
R: 16 16
S: 5.3333 16.0000
L: 48 16
D: 3 1
I: 32 32
N: 32 32
Q: 0 0
V: 0 0
RxQueue: 0 0
TxQueue: 0 0
G.INP Framing: 0 0
G.INP lookback: 0 0
RRC bits: 0 0

Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 0 0
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 663421528 1536943
RSCorr: 34 0
RSUnCorr: 0 0
Bearer 1
OHF: 1011362 1015318
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 12136342 4061274
RSCorr: 2 0
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx: 90 0
rtx_c: 3 0
rtx_uc: 0 0

G.INP Counters
LEFTRS: 0 0
minEFTR: 79616 19997
errFreeBits: 19730925 5024570

Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 2487830429 0
Data Cells: 19626343 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

Bearer 1
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 0 0
Data Cells: 0 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
AS: 16239

Bearer 0
INP: 46.00 47.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 0 0
PER: 0.00 0.00
OR: 0.01 0.01
AgR: 79716.76 20102.08

Bearer 1
INP: 4.00 4.00
INPRein: 4.00 4.00
delay: 3 0
PER: 16.06 16.06
OR: 95.62 31.87
AgR: 95.62 31.87

Bitswap: 0/0 4/4

Total time = 4 hours 30 min 45 sec
FEC: 34 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 45 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 30 min 45 sec
FEC: 34 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 4 hours 30 min 45 sec
FEC: 34 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
>
G.INP is active and running on 2.32d.dh14 as in the above post.

billion_fan
Posts: 5115
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: g.inp

Post by billion_fan » Tue Mar 17, 2015 3:00 pm

swatboy79 wrote:
mark800 wrote:How strange. I have G.IMP enabled on my line and it works perfectly well with the old firmware!

My downlink connection speed is now 80 Mbps. It was 74 Mbps without G.IMP and the modem is working perfectly.

Mark

Here are the stats:

adsl info --stats
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 27175 Kbps, Downstream rate = 80225 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79635 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.4 10.2
Attn(dB): 9.2 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.8 -7.6

VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: -6 -6
B: 243 97
M: 1 1
T: 0 0
R: 10 8
S: 0.0976 0.1554
L: 20827 5457
D: 8 8
I: 254 106
N: 254 106
Q: 8 8
V: 0 2
RxQueue: 60 39
TxQueue: 20 13
G.INP Framing: 18 18
G.INP lookback: 20 13
RRC bits: 24 24
Bearer 1
MSGc: 186 58
B: 0 0
M: 2 2
T: 2 2
R: 16 16
S: 5.3333 16.0000
L: 48 16
D: 3 1
I: 32 32
N: 32 32
Q: 0 0
V: 0 0
RxQueue: 0 0
TxQueue: 0 0
G.INP Framing: 0 0
G.INP lookback: 0 0
RRC bits: 0 0

Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 0 0
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 663421528 1536943
RSCorr: 34 0
RSUnCorr: 0 0
Bearer 1
OHF: 1011362 1015318
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 12136342 4061274
RSCorr: 2 0
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx: 90 0
rtx_c: 3 0
rtx_uc: 0 0

G.INP Counters
LEFTRS: 0 0
minEFTR: 79616 19997
errFreeBits: 19730925 5024570

Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 2487830429 0
Data Cells: 19626343 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

Bearer 1
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 0 0
Data Cells: 0 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
AS: 16239

Bearer 0
INP: 46.00 47.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 0 0
PER: 0.00 0.00
OR: 0.01 0.01
AgR: 79716.76 20102.08

Bearer 1
INP: 4.00 4.00
INPRein: 4.00 4.00
delay: 3 0
PER: 16.06 16.06
OR: 95.62 31.87
AgR: 95.62 31.87

Bitswap: 0/0 4/4

Total time = 4 hours 30 min 45 sec
FEC: 34 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 45 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 30 min 45 sec
FEC: 34 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 4 hours 30 min 45 sec
FEC: 34 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
>
G.INP is active and running on 2.32d.dh14 as in the above post.
Yes I saw that this morning :shock:

I think I will be pulling this firmware, as there seems to be issues with the DHCP lease option 61 with Sky users. (our engineers are checking this)

All users can you use 2.32.dh14 which has g.inp enabled so this firmware isn't really needed at the moment.

prichards
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:07 am

Re: g.inp

Post by prichards » Tue Mar 17, 2015 3:46 pm

Tried again with new firmware, reset to factory settings and once again after 60Mins connected the lease fails and you have to restart to gain access.

Firmware is faulty, Sky users don't install.

Post Reply