BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Discussions for BiPAC 8200 series VDSL modem /router: 8200AXL, 8206AZ, 8200M, 8200N
Gazerd
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:45 am

BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by Gazerd » Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:26 pm

I'm currenty using firmware 1.06a (latest firmware as of now) but I'm having problems getting the 8200N to connect to BT Infinity using VDSL. Here's a couple of screenshots :

VDSL
Image
Image

Now, if I connect the BT Openreach Modem to Ethernet Port 4 on the 8200N and set it up as a EWAN connection (using the same connection settings as VDSL) it works perfectly.

EWAN
Image
Image

I don't mind using this set-up but I know the 8200N is capable of connecting without the need of an external modem. Is there anything else I need to do when setting up the VDSL connection?

This is the username and password I'm using to connect.

Username : bthomehub@btbroadband.com
Password : BT

____________________________________________

EDIT :

Another problem I have is the wireless connection is slow.

Ethernet
Image

Wireless
Image

I know there would be some loss but not 25Mbit.

billion_fan
Posts: 5159
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by billion_fan » Fri Jun 22, 2012 4:23 pm

Did you setup the VLAN ID? (for a one box solution)

This should be in the quick start guide that came with the unit.

Gazerd
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:45 am

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by Gazerd » Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:15 pm

No, I didn't. After a search I found that the VLAN Tag for BT Infinity is 101. But I need some help with the settings :

Image

It's asking me to select a LAN port. I don't understand which one I should tick or what WAN Tag setting I should choose.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by admin » Tue Jun 26, 2012 3:07 pm

It's easy! You are nearly there. Just tick all 4 LAN and the WLAN and then select WAN TAG(NAT). Save you settings and you are done

Gazerd
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:45 am

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by Gazerd » Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:15 pm

Ok. Just tried that, I still get "No Response" from VDSL. I've gone back to EWAN for now. I have no idea what's wrong. Has anyone else been able to set BT Infinity up via the Billion 8200N?

Supposedly the modem needs DSLAM compatibility? (whatever that is)

Does the Billion 8200N support that?

Gazerd
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:45 am

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by Gazerd » Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:29 am

So nobody has got the Billion 8200N to work with Infinity then?

simon194
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by simon194 » Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:29 pm

Gazerd wrote:So nobody has got the Billion 8200N to work with Infinity then?
One question, what modem did Open reach install, Huawei or ECI?

I had an ECI modem installed because the street cabinet has an ECI MSAN and I'm can't get the router to sync up.

Edit: What I should have said is "Are you connected to and ECI or Huawei cabinet?" because Openreach have been fitting Huawei modems to lines connected to ECI cabinets so using the modem as guide doesn't always work.

Gazerd
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:45 am

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by Gazerd » Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:20 pm

simon194 wrote:
Gazerd wrote:So nobody has got the Billion 8200N to work with Infinity then?
One question, what modem did Open reach install, Huawei or ECI?

I had an ECI modem installed because the street cabinet has an ECI MSAN and I'm can't get the router to sync up.

Edit: What I should have said is "Are you connected to and ECI or Huawei cabinet?" because Openreach have been fitting Huawei modems to lines connected to ECI cabinets so using the modem as guide doesn't always work.
They gave me a Huawei Modem. Is there any way I can still get this to work? (tried everything...)

simon194
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by simon194 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:35 pm

Gazerd wrote:
simon194 wrote:
Gazerd wrote:So nobody has got the Billion 8200N to work with Infinity then?
One question, what modem did Open reach install, Huawei or ECI?

I had an ECI modem installed because the street cabinet has an ECI MSAN and I'm can't get the router to sync up.

Edit: What I should have said is "Are you connected to and ECI or Huawei cabinet?" because Openreach have been fitting Huawei modems to lines connected to ECI cabinets so using the modem as guide doesn't always work.
They gave me a Huawei Modem. Is there any way I can still get this to work? (tried everything...)
That's odd because the 8200N apparently works OK on Huawei equipment unless they gave you a Huawei modem instead of an ECI one which does happen.

Do the street cabinets look like the ECI one in this link, http://www.robertos.me.uk/html/street_cabinets_etc.html? It's the only foolproof way to determine whether it Huawei or ECI gear being used.

Gazerd
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:45 am

Re: BT Infinity - VDSL Problems

Post by Gazerd » Sun Jul 22, 2012 7:04 pm

Yep, it looks like its a ECI 128.

Is there anything I can do to connect without using the Huawei?

Post Reply