Page 1 of 1

Virgin media customers

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:38 pm
by JackBoris
Looking to replace the gawd awful Super hub,
just issue after issue.
Wanted to ask experience on either making it work with a Billion hub or bypassing completely.
Any help/ recommendations greatly appreciated. Thanks

Re: Virgin media customers

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:06 pm
by billion_fan
JackBoris wrote:Looking to replace the gawd awful Super hub,
just issue after issue.
Wanted to ask experience on either making it work with a Billion hub or bypassing completely.
Any help/ recommendations greatly appreciated. Thanks
I use the 7800DXL with the Virgin Super Hub, set to 'Modem Only' mode, I haven't had the Virgin connection for long (had to scrap Be) but it seems fine. Speedtest through the 7800DXL shows as 160mbps on speedtest.net.

Re: Virgin media customers

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 8:57 am
by Chaisoro7789
Any help / advice is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Re: Virgin media customers

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 10:18 am
by billion_fan
Chaisoro7789 wrote:
Wed Jan 20, 2021 8:57 am
Any help / advice is greatly appreciated, thanks.
1. Set the Virgin to modem only mode
2. Setup the 7800/8800/8900 for Ethernet >> IP Over Ethernet connection (WAN interface)
3. Plug your Virgin modem to the EWAN port on the Billion
4. Reboot the virgin modem (the billion should then obtain a public IP from the virgin modem)