7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Post Reply
sfitzp4573
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:05 pm

Re: Regarding 7800N for Sky Fibe test firmware (UPDATED 16/5

Post by sfitzp4573 » Wed May 16, 2012 4:14 pm

This could indeed be good news!
I've tried to find a definative answer in these forums, but haven't yet managed - so, please can anyone tell me - can I get rid of the Sky router and use the 7800N as a direct replacement? (I'm dying to become a new Billion cutsomer but I don't want 3 boxes on my desk).

If so, then I'll definately be ordering one :-)

thanks

Simon.

tadams84
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 2:57 pm

Re: Regarding 7800N for Sky Fibe test firmware (UPDATED 16/5

Post by tadams84 » Wed May 16, 2012 4:38 pm

So far it's still working so yes you can buy the Billion, get rid of the Sky router and just have the Openreach modem and Billion connected.

Connection seems more instant at the moment, also notice via my BQM that the Billion is causing less latency than the Sky router.

Billion
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/shar ... e8bce.html

Sky
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/shar ... -2012.html
(Nothing was using the connection in the early hours)

sfitzp4573
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:05 pm

Re: Regarding 7800N for Sky Fibe test firmware (UPDATED 16/5

Post by sfitzp4573 » Wed May 16, 2012 4:53 pm

thanks for your helpful & speedy reply. I shall be ordering one tonight ...

Simon.

AndyCap
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:00 am

Re: Regarding 7800N for Sky Fibe test firmware (UPDATED 16/5

Post by AndyCap » Wed May 16, 2012 6:07 pm

DO NOT GET RID OF THE SKY ROUTER

By all means box it up and store it but make sure you keep it somewhere safe.

sfitzp4573
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:05 pm

Re: Regarding 7800N for Sky Fibe test firmware (UPDATED 16/5

Post by sfitzp4573 » Wed May 16, 2012 7:22 pm

@AndyCap

Point noted!. Yes, that's what I meant. I intend to keep the Sky router boxed up, in case of issues etc, but it won't be seeing any "active use" if I can avoid it.

I've just ordered a 7800N from broadbandbuyer.co.uk

can't wait ...

johnsonp
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:30 am

Re: Regarding 7800N for Sky Fibe test firmware (UPDATED 16/5

Post by johnsonp » Wed May 16, 2012 9:24 pm

Just re-instated my Billion with this firmware - works a treat!

Sky Fibre + Billion 7800N - rock & roll!

Thanks a billion, Billion

Batfin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:16 pm

Re: Regarding 7800N for Sky Fibe test firmware (UPDATED 16/5

Post by Batfin » Thu May 17, 2012 12:56 am

Yep just downloaded and installed all working great!

Just a question for the people who've installed this - when you go to your WAN interface config how come the upstream and downstream both have 35000 in them,I've no idea what it means but I'm sure some bright spark will be able to enlighten me!

Bitbrit
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:59 pm

Re: Regarding 7800N for Sky Fibe test firmware (UPDATED 16/5

Post by Bitbrit » Thu May 17, 2012 10:36 am

Batfin wrote:Just a question for the people who've installed this - when you go to your WAN interface config how come the upstream and downstream both have 35000 in them,I've no idea what it means but I'm sure some bright spark will be able to enlighten me!
Hmm, nicely spotted. My 7800N was already set up for EWAN so I didn't see this yesterday.

I'd like to hear the answer to this as well. More importantly, why can't these settings be set any higher than 35000?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Post by admin » Thu May 17, 2012 2:34 pm

Don't worry about the 35000 settings on the EWAN, it is not going to be on the official release. As mentioned this testing firmware is specially for client ID (DHCP option 61) on EWAN and let's focus on any problems related this.

tadams84
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 2:57 pm

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Post by tadams84 » Thu May 17, 2012 4:17 pm

Just over 26hrs on the firmware and all working 100% as normal and no disconnection or lease expiring.

Post Reply