IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Discussions for BiPAC 7300 series: 7300, 7300G, 7300N..etc
Post Reply
bomberman
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:23 pm

IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Post by bomberman » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:42 am

Hi

I wonder if anyone has any pointers regarding setting-up an IP camera on the router. My isp is unable to assign a static IP addy unless I pay more and have therefore registered a DNS addy from (noip) as this is possible.

The camera I have is a Foscam however they don't have any settings for the Billion router/modem, i've spent a good many hours trying to get this to work but have had no success :oops:

Thanks in advance

B

bomberman
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:23 pm

Re: IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Post by bomberman » Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:13 am

Just a little bump as I can't get the camera to work using no-ip (DNS)

Thanks

billion_fan
Posts: 5203
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Post by billion_fan » Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:13 pm

Hi

Can you get the camera to work using the WAN IP? That is the first step, you will need to use the Virtual server to open the ports needed for remote viewing.

Once you can connect via the WAN IP address, then you start to work on DDNS workaround.

bomberman
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:23 pm

Re: IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Post by bomberman » Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:50 pm

Hi

Thanks for the reply. The cam works fine when I access it via the network, including the app on my phone. However if I access it remotely via the WWW using my IP addy and port number it works fine, until my ISP changes my IP addy.

I have updated to the latest firmware and web ui on the camera and have tried to set the camera to my no-ip addy. I presume that I set this up in Foscam/Device Management/DDNS if so the options only available in "DDNS Server" are:

None
Oray.net
DynDns.or (dyndyns)
DynDns.or (statdns)
DynDns.org (custom)
3322.org (dyndns)
332.org (statdns)

I have tried everyone and they still don't work by entering my no-ip details i.e.

DDNS User : Emaill addy used to set the account up
DDNS Password : *****************
DDNS Host : *******.no-ip.info

The message displayed on the camera status is:

DynDns Failed: The Host Does not Exist
UPnP: UPnP Succeed

On the router I have set up port forwarding in Configuration/Virtual Server/Port Mapping i.e.

Application: FTP
Protocol: TCP (external port 21-21)
Internal Addy: 192.168.1.***
Internal Port: 8090
Time Schedule: Always On

I'm with O2.

Any help you and provide is greatly appreciated

Thanks

billion_fan
Posts: 5203
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Post by billion_fan » Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:09 pm

Have you tried to enter your DDNS settings in the router instead of the IP cam?

bomberman
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:23 pm

Re: IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Post by bomberman » Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:10 am

Thanks for the reply BF, yes I entered the details in the camera settings.

B

billion_fan
Posts: 5203
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Post by billion_fan » Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:05 pm

bomberman wrote:Thanks for the reply BF, yes I entered the details in the camera settings.

B

I meant the 7300N has a DDNS option, instead of entering the DDNS settings in your web cam, have you tried to set the DDNS in the router configuration page?

Once set you should be able to use DDNS name to access your web cam, followed by the port you have forwarded using the virtual server.

Once you can access the router (once remote access is enabled) using the DDNS name, then you should be able to access the web cam, once the port forwarding is setup.

bomberman
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:23 pm

Re: IP Camera Setting for the Billion 7300N ?

Post by bomberman » Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:02 pm

Thanks for the tips, managed to get this working via a Firmware update from the camera supplier

Post Reply