DNS Proxy

Discussions for BiPAC 7700 series: 7700N
Post Reply
Brian49
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:46 pm

DNS Proxy

Post by Brian49 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:56 am

I can only connect to the internet if I enable DNS Proxy in the router config. I wonder why that is, please? I would have expected the use of a proxy to be an option, not a requirement. Many thanks.

Ionknight
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:50 am

Re: DNS Proxy

Post by Ionknight » Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:51 am

I've also noticed this and as I have no wish to ever use DNS Proxy it's kind of frustrating to have to leave this on just so you can use the internet.

billion_fan
Posts: 5159
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: DNS Proxy

Post by billion_fan » Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:18 pm

Ionknight wrote:I've also noticed this and as I have no wish to ever use DNS Proxy it's kind of frustrating to have to leave this on just so you can use the internet.
Works here see attached screen shots, I posted this reply using a 7700N with 'Proxy DNS' disabled
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Ionknight
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:50 am

Re: DNS Proxy

Post by Ionknight » Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:58 pm

Hmm weird when I do the same ping fails. Literally disabled DNS Proxy only - Internet Doesn't work, ping, traceroute nothing. DNS Proxy enabled- Internet begins working again, ping etc. Has their ever been a bug with this setting (as in is it worth upgrading, think i have the latest fw but can't be sure atm, at work)?

billion_fan
Posts: 5159
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: DNS Proxy

Post by billion_fan » Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:06 pm

Ionknight wrote:Hmm weird when I do the same ping fails. Literally disabled DNS Proxy only - Internet Doesn't work, ping, traceroute nothing. DNS Proxy enabled- Internet begins working again, ping etc. Has their ever been a bug with this setting (as in is it worth upgrading, think i have the latest fw but can't be sure atm, at work)?
Double check the software version to make sure it matches my screen shot

Ionknight
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:50 am

Re: DNS Proxy

Post by Ionknight » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:59 pm

Yea sadly jut updated to the same version still getting the same problem, any ideas?
Image

billion_fan
Posts: 5159
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: DNS Proxy

Post by billion_fan » Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:12 am

Ionknight wrote:Yea sadly jut updated to the same version still getting the same problem, any ideas?
Image
I know why it was working for me, as I had static DNS servers set to my LAN, let me check with our engineers

BigJohnD
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: Hoylake, Wirral
Contact:

Re: DNS Proxy

Post by BigJohnD » Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:58 am

FWIW, I use an alternative DNS rather than the default from my ISP, have the DNS proxy switched off and can ping (the BBC) easily.

Looks like my 7700N is exactly the same as the others.

Image

Image

Post Reply