7402X Transparent bridge mode?

Discussion for BiPAC 7402 series: 7402, 7402G, 7402X, 7402GX, 7402NX..etc
Post Reply
t1ck3ts
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:24 pm

7402X Transparent bridge mode?

Post by t1ck3ts » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:31 pm

Hi

I need to set my old 7402X ADSL Router into a transparent bridge or half-bridge, not sure what to call it.

I need the 7402X to make the connection to my ISP but i would like my firewall to be assigned the external IP Address given by my ISP.
Basically, this setup: INTERNET --> 7402X --> FIREWALL/GATEWAY --> SWITCH --> USERS

There is a pure bridge mode, but that just makes it so my pc can use the PPPoE client and connect to my ISP, which is not what i need.

Any ideas how to do this?

billion_fan
Posts: 5220
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 7402X Transparent bridge mode?

Post by billion_fan » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:51 pm

t1ck3ts wrote:
Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:31 pm
Hi

I need to set my old 7402X ADSL Router into a transparent bridge or half-bridge, not sure what to call it.

I need the 7402X to make the connection to my ISP but i would like my firewall to be assigned the external IP Address given by my ISP.
Basically, this setup: INTERNET --> 7402X --> FIREWALL/GATEWAY --> SWITCH --> USERS

There is a pure bridge mode, but that just makes it so my pc can use the PPPoE client and connect to my ISP, which is not what i need.

Any ideas how to do this?
This device does not have the half bridge option (which is what you need)

Other option is to purchase a 8800NL R2 which will work in Half Bridge on ADSL only (pass the external IP over to another device that is set to receive a IP via DHCP)

t1ck3ts
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: 7402X Transparent bridge mode?

Post by t1ck3ts » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:09 pm

Damn :(

Well, it was an old device anyways i guess.

Thanks for the help :)

Post Reply