8900AX2400 and Tunnel Broker IPv6

Discussions for BiPAC 8900 series: 8900AX-1600, 8900AX-2400, 8900X
Post Reply
rhysssmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:11 pm

8900AX2400 and Tunnel Broker IPv6

Post by rhysssmith » Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:40 pm

I've been trying to get an IPv6 tunnel via tunnelbroker up and running on my new 8900AX2400, but no joy. Firmware version is 2.52.d16.

I followed the instructions on viewtopic.php?t=3747 (I know that's for a 88xx, but was hoping the settings would translate as it seems pretty similar).

Have IPv6 disabled on the PPPoE interface (I have a VDSL connection), have enabled DHCPv6 server on the LAN with router advertisements, and have added a 6in4 tunnel with the routed /64 from tunnelbroker as my 6rd prefix and the server v4 address as my border relay v4 address.

However, neither of my Macs are getting a v6 address issued to them (they have IPv6 set to configure automatically, and they worked fine on my previous router with the tunnelbroker connection set up, so don't think it's a client issue). Also, if I try to remove the 6in4 tunnel, I just get "6in4 Tunnel Remove Error -> Unable to remove."

Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!

billion_fan
Posts: 5217
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8900AX2400 and Tunnel Broker IPv6

Post by billion_fan » Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:59 pm

rhysssmith wrote:I've been trying to get an IPv6 tunnel via tunnelbroker up and running on my new 8900AX2400, but no joy. Firmware version is 2.52.d16.

I followed the instructions on viewtopic.php?t=3747 (I know that's for a 88xx, but was hoping the settings would translate as it seems pretty similar).

Have IPv6 disabled on the PPPoE interface (I have a VDSL connection), have enabled DHCPv6 server on the LAN with router advertisements, and have added a 6in4 tunnel with the routed /64 from tunnelbroker as my 6rd prefix and the server v4 address as my border relay v4 address.

However, neither of my Macs are getting a v6 address issued to them (they have IPv6 set to configure automatically, and they worked fine on my previous router with the tunnelbroker connection set up, so don't think it's a client issue). Also, if I try to remove the 6in4 tunnel, I just get "6in4 Tunnel Remove Error -> Unable to remove."

Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!
Reported to our engineers, (Ipv6inIpv4 not working) once I get some feedback I will post it here

Not sure why you can't remove the rule, I can remove my rule without any issues.

rhysssmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:11 pm

Re: 8900AX2400 and Tunnel Broker IPv6

Post by rhysssmith » Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:36 pm

Cool, thanks. Happy to work with your engineers to diagnose things and provide logs and whatnot if required - just get in touch.

billion_fan
Posts: 5217
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8900AX2400 and Tunnel Broker IPv6

Post by billion_fan » Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:53 pm

rhysssmith wrote:Cool, thanks. Happy to work with your engineers to diagnose things and provide logs and whatnot if required - just get in touch.
Not to worry once I get more feedback I will drop a update here

billion_fan
Posts: 5217
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8900AX2400 and Tunnel Broker IPv6

Post by billion_fan » Thu Aug 03, 2017 4:58 pm

billion_fan wrote:
rhysssmith wrote:Cool, thanks. Happy to work with your engineers to diagnose things and provide logs and whatnot if required - just get in touch.
Not to worry once I get more feedback I will drop a update here
Attached is a new firmware that resolves the IPv6inIPv4 tunnel issues.

When setting up the tunnel make sure you set the 'V4 Common Bit Length' to 32. (tested and working here)

You can upgrade with current settings option used also. (should save some time)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rhysssmith
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:11 pm

Re: 8900AX2400 and Tunnel Broker IPv6

Post by rhysssmith » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:41 am

Awesome - can confirm that this firmware (2.52.d17) fixes the 6in4 tunnel issue. I'm now getting v6 addresses on my lan/wan, and can do v6 things on the internet.

Many thanks for the quick fix, I'm impressed :-). Looks like deciding on the Billion router was the right choice...
Screenshot 2017-08-04 09.37.33.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply